Expat Life · Parenthood · Wanderings

Lately…

Happiness is a way of travel not a destination

Well hi! I looked at the calendar, then the last date I posted. It has happened again: I lost track of all the things we’ve been up to and didn’t get around to posting them. I’ll regret it, I always do. The details of our travels get lost with time. I don’t want to let them slip away entirely this time. So I’ll be back with more.

But the overview goes something like this:

Summer was epic. I’m a runner now. The kids are getting so big. (If you follow me on Instagram you know all this.)

I don’t want to let this summer get away from me. Camping, paddle-boarding, ancient rock art, road trips, concerts, sunshine… Lakes Iseo, Garda, Maggiore, Varese and Monate, the Black Forest, the French Alps. Reuniting with friends, making new ones. Spending time with family and showing them our life here. It was so, so good.

This past weekend I ran a 15-mile race to cap off the end of my half marathon training. (The story behind why I did that run instead of a half is complicated.) I’ve run over 200 miles since June! While I can’t imagine not running now, I feel liberated without a training plan hanging over my head. The process revealed many things to me, and I think I need to share them here one of these days.

And the kids. The oldest is nearly six. He lost his two bottom front teeth and has grown-up ones already filling the gap. He is so happy at kindergarten. He rides the bus to school, has new friends, is learning German. All of this somehow makes his little brother seem even smaller, though he too is growing. The littlest was very sick at the beginning of the summer, and he spent a week in an Italian hospital healing. I’m so glad July and August were much better than that. He’s healthy now, and has this huge vocabulary and quirky sense of humor. Being at his preschool without his older brother was a change, but he’s starting to come into his own there. Sometimes when I see the ragazzi hanging out after high school my heart leaps: how is it possible that those teenagers were ever as tiny as my kids are? And how is it my kids will be them one day? We seem to be hurtling toward that faster and faster.

So. Life is good and full.  I’m sometimes seized by the reality that time is all we truly have. It’s paralyzing because there doesn’t seem to be enough of it. Not for those of us who require 7-8 hours of sleep each night, at least. I’m not the only one to feel this, right?

Leave a Reply

