Books · Music

~ End of Summer ~ Mixed Media

Mixed Media is a recurring feature on this blog of the books, music, movies and other media that I’m loving right now.

All of the excitement for pumpkin-flavored stuff has started making waves, but I’m grasping the last straws of summer over here. Yes, the light is becoming golden and the nights are cooler. But my kids aren’t in school yet, dammit.

So. With the Labor Day weekend ahead I feel I can share my summer media favorites, which aren’t particularly timely because I’m so out of touch, but still.

Listening to

Do you ever have those moments when you think, “Oh. Wait. I really need some music for this.”? I get so wrapped up in the tasks of daily living that I sometimes forget that I love listening to music and that it has the power to set the tone for my day.

I’m in love with one of Italy’s top songs of the summer (which happens to be Spanish and unavailable for download in the U.S., but I dare you to listen to this and want to dance):

Electric Love by BØRNS just makes me happy:

Playing

We’re dutiful about playing MindSnacks Italian and Duolingo over here to learn the language. Walden can count and spell some Italian words already!

WhatsApp is my new lifeline, allowing me to text with friends and family back home (if you’re set up yet, ahem MOM).

Reading

Mixed Media Books Fall 15

You’ve hard about this adult coloring craze, right? This has not been lost on me. I am OBSESSED, to the point where I consider coloring to be an official hobby. I love coloring in my Angie Grace Balance book.

Two friends recommended All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew when I asked where to begin with my garden. The method is revolutionary to me, as someone who grew up among long row gardens, and I’m now very excited to start my own.

I’ve been reading Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown for a while now. It’s taking me far too long to read, but I absolutely love it every time I pick it up. There is so much truth inside it. Everything she says about vulnerability and shame resonate so very deeply. Perhaps it’s that there is so much to process and discover while reading it that requires all this time?

And, being a new transplant in my town, I found “How to Make Friends as a Grown Up” at Real Simple to be a really insightful (and encouraging!) read.

Our Internet hiatus has really sliced into my movie watching this summer. With any luck our household goods will arrive very soon and I’ll be able to discover something for the next Mixed Media list!

What are you into right now?

I can’t responsibly finish this post without links to some information about the refugee crisis in Europe. Take a look at these charts. The number of displaced people is astounding. I hesitate to post this link because I felt so angry at the person who shared it on Facebook, forcing me to see the toddler on a beach who didn’t make the journey to freedom with his family. It can’t be unseen, and it is incredibly difficult to see as a mother. It’s much more comfortable to ignore that there are millions of people who have been forced to flee their homes for the hope of survival, that sometimes their stories end like this. We need to know this is happening.

Feel free to scroll back to the music to boost your mood after that. My apologies (but I can’t NOT say something). I do wish you a happy holiday weekend!

One thought on “~ End of Summer ~ Mixed Media

Leave a Reply

