Parenthood

Yes, I DO Want Something for Mother’s Day

Mother's Day

Has your Facebook feed filled up with links to articles about what moms actually want for Mother’s Day? Gift guides? Or that moms want nothing except for lots of little not-somethings?

I haven’t asked specifically for anything this year. My husband already encouraged me to pick out a locally crafted necklace at Southern Makers last weekend. I don’t feel desperate for a day away from my kids. I’m not exhausted. I’m not stressed. I have plans to be out of town over the next two weekends, after all. I have a really good life.

But I do still want something. Perhaps you want this, too:

I want one day of whole-family happiness. One peaceful day. A day without whining. No shouting, no crying. No grumpiness allowed. I want to be relaxed and joyful with my family for an entire day, because those kinds of days are the best gift in life.

Perhaps there will be a time when the boys are a bit older that the whining and crying cease. I’m not wishing this time away. I just want us all to enjoy each other just the way we are right now. Surely that’s not too much to ask of my 2 and 4 year old boys, right?

I’m chilling some wine anyway.

2 thoughts on “Yes, I DO Want Something for Mother’s Day

  1. Yes!!! I’ve said many times to Brian that all I want is a day together with no whining, no crying, and no fighting. I love it when we spend time together but those whiny days can get loong. I agree, a peaceful day is the best gift of all. I hope you get it tomorrow! :)

  2. Yup! If only it can be guaranteed, right? When the peaceful days do happen, I tell myself to remember them as a reminder that they do happen! Even if it’s not always on request :) Hope your Mother’s Day was peaceful!

Leave a Reply

