Being

I Run.

So, I run now.

Running Shoes

For years (YEARS) I’ve called some of my favorite people crazy for running for fun. My husband has tried many, many times to encourage me to run, which I’d attempt twice before retreating to the smooth familiarity of the elliptical. I’d say that my local peer group is comprised of more people who run than don’t. At least, the people who are training for 10k’s and half-marathons are being heard. “Everyone else is a runner,” I’d say. “I’ll never be a runner.”

Not that I’m calling myself a runner.

I played team sports growing up. A little volleyball, a taste of basketball, lots of softball. Other sports involving balls, too. Tennis. Golf. The thing about every single one of those sports is that long distance running has nothing to do with them. Sprints, agility, strength, hand-eye coordination, yes. But being able to run for an hour? Yeahno.

My book club made a team for an upcoming 5k. Somewhere along the way I got it in my head that if I were to ever run a 5k, I would actually run it. Like, the whole three miles, without walking. There were enough weeks to start a training program, so I agreed to join the team. “It’s just three miles.” I haven’t ever really run much more than one.

So here’s the thing: getting started with running is hard. Running on real ground is hard. Teaching your muscles how to move that way and building them to carry you step after step (and so many more) is hard. I’m on my third week of training and the idea of running for three miles straight sounds like The Worst. Right now I’m doing intervals of running and walking, increasing the running by 30 seconds every couple of runs. Usually I cover 2.5 to 3 miles. Muscles ache in ways I’ve never known (hello, hip flexors!). I often feel clumsy and awkward when I’m running. And the other morning I ran when it was 48 and overcast and super windy and really hated it.

But then there’s that feeling when I’m done with a run (er, “run”), that feeling of accomplishment, that has me excited for the next one. I feel stronger each day. I’ve decided to trust the training plan, which will have me running three miles in another month and a half. And how cool will it be to say that I did it?

Do you run? Are you thinking about running? I’d love to hear your stories of inspiration!

9 thoughts on “I Run.

  1. You are doing great! The best way to start is slowly and with intervals… I am also a non-runner turned runner. It took me awhile to call myself a “runner”. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far, what matters is that you go! You ARE a runner! Great job :)

  2. Who knew running hurt the hips so much? (At first, anyway–they don’t bug me after 8 months of running). I felt like such a poser when i started too, back when i thought ‘real’ runners floated above the ground. No worries, you are a real runner. Best of luck!

  3. You are doing awesome! It is so hard when starting out. I had to start with intervals as well, and after a month or so I was able to run an entire 5K without walking. I have a love/hate relationship with running. While doing it I think it is the worst idea in the world, but after I feel awesome.

  4. It’s definitely one of those things that you dread beforehand, then feel amazing afterwards. I’ve found that if I don’t force myself to do more than I want, I run more often. I.e. when I wake up telling myself I HAVE to run 5 miles today, I am more likely to crap out. When I say to myself, “just go for a nice, 10 minute job”, I usually get in 2 or 3 miles. Short and sweet and perfect for me. Oh, and nice scenery (and motivational music!) do wonders for my running habits!

  5. I like the idea of taking off the pressure to perform! Hearing from other runners has me daydreaming of running through beautiful places some day. The brown dreariness of this suburb will be stale before I know it, I’m sure.

    Thanks for the encouragement, ladies!

  6. Angie, isn’t it funny how something so miserable can make you feel so great? I’m excited to hear that a 5K run might not be as far off for me as I think!

  7. Thanks for writing and sharing your stories! When I read this blog entry, honestly, it felt like I was reading my own journal! :) It was 3 years ago that I began my journey as “a runner” & it started very similar to yours. The intervals and building up the miles are tough, but stick with it. Believe in the process. It will keep you healthy & hopefully injury free! :) Running changed my life in numerous ways & I hope it’s as meaningful to you. Who would’ve thought two of the quick softball outfielders would become distance runners?! LOL! Looking forward to reading about your journey & cheering you on!

  8. Jamin, it brings such a smile to my face to read your comment! I’ve noticed your posts from your runs (and those you’ve cheered on) in those years, and I hope it’s not strange to admit that I find some inspiration in you from time to
    time when I’m running. If one former outfielder can turn into a runner, why can’t I? ;) It seems to have brought much joy to your life, I’m glad you have found it! And thanks for reading!

  9. I’m inspired by you! Plus you get bonus points for doing it with a stroller (and sometimes a screaming toddler). If you want somewhere beautiful to run, we’ve got lots of great coastal trails here in the San Francisco area… :)

Leave a Reply

