Being · Travel

Liebster Award

liebster-blog-award-2

Thanks to Bethany at Found, Wandering for nominating me for a Liebster Award! It’s so exciting to connect with new readers and bloggers.

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers with less than 200 followers. Its aim is to spread the word about new blogs and build up the blogging community. It’s an internet thing, and I’m very flattered to have been chosen to participate. [This post has been updated to include links to my nominees! Oh, the perils of syncing across multiple devices…]

Here are the rules:
– You must link back to the person who nominated you.
– You must answer the 11 questions given by the person who nominated you.
– You pick 5-11 nominees with under 200 followers (or 500, depending on which rules you’re looking at) to answer your questions.
– You cannot nominate the person who nominated you.
– You must tell the nominees that they have been nominated by you.

So, without further ado, my answers to Bethany’s questions.

1. What was the best moment you had on your travels so far?

This is tough to answer. There are so many vivid memories of wonderful moments, many which happened before blogging was a thing. It might be a tie. Either A) taking a bite of lemongrass-steamed lobster (my first ever) in a candle-lit restaurant that was open to a street in the Latin Quarter of Paris while rain fell at midnight on my honeymoon or B) witnessing a rare volcanic rock slide from the Arenal Lodge in Costa Rica while drinking a beer (also with my husband).

2. What was one place you never expected to go but were happy that you did?

Guatemala. I traveled with a friend to visit another friend from college, the summer after we graduated. I burned graduation money to go, but it was such an eye-opening experience. There is too much to say about it and too many more questions to answer. Perhaps I will one day blog about it!

3. Where is the one place you would go next if cost was not an issue, and why?

We actually have some great travel planned to take advantage of being in England while we can. If I were to go ANYwhere, though, Machu Picchu, the Galapagos Islands and New Zealand are high on my list, simply for natural beauty.

4. Which of your blog posts has gotten the most reaction from your readers and why?

My tips for flying transatlantic with a toddler is my most popular post. People are intimidated (some even terrified) by making long trips with small children. I can’t blame them! As with anything, practice makes it easier and less daunting. Those long flights can be hard work, but you can’t let fear of that work keep you from taking your adventures.

A recent post about depression resonated with a lot of readers. It hasn’t generated the most comments, but they were beautiful, supportive comments. Many friends, family members and readers also reached out to me privately to share their stories and offer encouragement.

5. Tell us about the scariest moment of your travels.

The moment my husband turned our rental Kia onto the road to Witches Rock in Costa Rica, in Santa Rosa National Park. We had to sign a waiver with our passport numbers, declaring that no one would come in to help us if we get stuck. I’m not much of a daredevil.

6. Where were you when you had that moment of, “Holy crap, this is where I am!”

In Pau, France, at the barrier to the finish line at the Tour de France. I was eating a baguette with butter and salami and sampling some homemade wine from a Basque farmer, waiting for the racers with other Americans that had come to cheer on Lance Armstrong. It was my honeymoon, it was 2005, it was surreal.

7. How were you able to travel, financially and with where you were in your life before you left (relationships, job, etc.)?

I traveled much less when I was working full time. I simply didn’t have the vacation time, after using it up to visit family. Many of my travels have been with my husband. We’re lucky that his job has moved us to England, where European travel is much more affordable.

8. Why do you blog?

My blog is a place to capture my memories. It’s more natural for me than creating a photo book. Plus, I often have a lot to say about our life as a military family, or my journey as a parent.

Dementia occurs on both sides of my family. I have a fear of forgetting the special and unique moments of this life, which make it mine. By sharing them I fear less that they’ll be forgotten.

9. What is your favorite place to visit in your own country?

Home. Most of my family still lives in one town in Indiana. I lived there for 19 years, but I can’t imagine ever living there again. There’s a lot of inconspicuous beauty in the farm land, mostly rooted in my nostalgia. My family has lived there for more than 150 years. I suppose I feel connected to it, through my memories and ancestors. I can’t feel that way about anywhere else in the world, and there are probably very few people who can appreciate it.

10. What one item did you find most useful while traveling?

Comfy shoes. You can go anywhere as long as you can walk! And maybe a GPS or smartphone with a map app…if you’re walking you can get lost.

11. What is one piece of advice you’d give to someone who was about to set out on their own adventure?

Don’t forget your passport, and make sure it doesn’t expire too soon!

Now… my nominees!

The Blue Ribbon Wife

Melba Sunshine

And Then We Laughed

The Ross Family

Budget Loving Military Wife

 

Here are my 11 questions for you:

  1. What is the bravest thing you’ve ever done?
  2. What’s a motto or quote that truly inspires you?
  3. You’re visited by ambassadors of a small tribe that has had no contact with outsiders. What do you do to share your culture with them?
  4. Who, out of anyone who has ever lived, would you like to take a day trip with? Where would you go?
  5. Which of your blog posts is your favorite?
  6. Why do you blog?
  7. What is one thing you never anticipated about the life you’re living?
  8. When was the last time you laughed so hard that you cried?
  9. Describe a perfect morning.
  10. What is the most beautiful place you have ever visited?
  11. What book will you never get tired of reading?
3 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Another great blog.
    I appreciated the 2nd part of your response to question 4.
    I never knew about #6, now that’s just awesome!
    #8, I was just talking about you and your blog to my neighbour yesterday. ;-)

Leave a Reply

