Military Life · Parenthood

Tis the Season

Walden & Enzo 2011

It’s PCS season around here.

You military families know what I’m talking about. For the rest of you: PCS season is that time of year (usually summer) when your friends and their families are packed up and moved to their next assignment.

We’re lucky that, in our community, our “goodbye”s are most likely just “see ya later”s. But that doesn’t change the fact that Walden’s very first buddy has moving too far away to visit for a play date any time soon. (The photo above was from one of their first play dates, a couple of months after we arrived in England.)

We’ve parted ways with several friends over the years. This is just the first time that one of our children is able to understand (kind of) how it affects him. He has told me that his friend’s toys went away on a truck and that his friend and his mommy, daddy and brother took an airplane ride. That we can’t go to his house to play any more.

I think we’ll be OK. It’s just that now I can begin to imagine what it’s going to be like in the future, when his friendships are deeper and the idea of losing a friend feels devastating. Then there’s the part about having to start over in a new place.

Thankfully these aren’t things I have to deal with yet. Hopefully frequent moves in the next few years will condition my little kids to be resilient and adaptable by the time they can grasp what’s happening. I’m sure it will. My friends who were military brats are some of the strongest people I know.

I just know it’s going to take some practice to get used to it.

Wanderlynn was nominated for Circle of Moms Top 25 Military Moms 2013! Voting takes but a click, and you can do it once a day between now and July 4, 2013. Would you take a second to vote? Click here. Thanks!

One thought on “Tis the Season

  1. I’m dreading the day we leave here and won’t have Sam’s best bud to lean on for playdates. He talks about him nonstop and I can usually quiet the chatter with the promise of seeing him “tomorrow” or “when he gets home from his trip” but when we move? Yikes. I’m not sure who will freak out more. :/

Leave a Reply

