Parenthood · Stay-at-home-sometimes-solo Mom

The Sound of Silence

I’m not much of a talker.

I like the quiet. I like to reflect. I like to observe.

I don’t like to talk if I’m not sure of what I’m saying. And I don’t like to talk just for the sake of talking.

And so my toddler’s latest “thing” is a huge challenge. (More so than the running-away-from-Kleenex thing, pictured above.)

He asks me to talk. Constantly. About nothing. Or anything. Whatever the command “talk” inspires.

When it first started to get to me, I talked about how we say “please” when we want someone to do something for us. So now it’s “talk please.” Then we talked about conversation, how usually one person asks the other person questions, or introduces a topic. We’re still working on it.

We’ve talked about diggers, the weather, opposites, trains, daddy, camping, space, animals, the alphabet, numbers, books, colors, shapes, the ingredients for dinner, feelings, school, music, airplanes, tools, pumpkins, helicopters, using the potty, big boy beds, baby brothers, big brothers, grandparents, volcanoes and more.

Sometimes he asks to see pictures –  with constant narration. The positive: lots of variety. The drawback: we have a LOT of pictures.

His language has come leaps and bounds in the past few weeks, so I know it’s part of his current developmental phase. I know that the best way for his language to develop is to talk to him and read to him. I just thought I could get away with, you know, being normal about it.

I’ve always known there will come a time when I won’t be able to get my child to stop talking. But never did I expect a time when my child would expect it of me!

7 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence

  1. I feel the exact same way. I’m not much of a talker either and feel tons of pressure to narrate every second of my day with Levi.

  2. It’s exhausting, isn’t it? I think I planted a bad seed by starting to talk a lot during our car rides from base to keep him awake. (“Look, a sheep! Sheep say BAAA!” “Let’s say all of the colors!”) It’s especially challenging on those grumpy days that I’d prefer to just hide out in a book.

  3. This is a fascinating post for me, because I’m the total opposite: I talk and talk and talk and Lorelei never says anything! I constantly worry about her language development…but maybe it’s just that she’s more like her dad and is an internal processor instead of an external one, like I am.

  4. It could be her personality, or it could just be that she’s listening! One day she’ll start trying out some words, then the flood gates will open. It’s truly astounding how quickly they pick up words once they get started!

Leave a Reply

