Food

How to Kill a Cobbler

 

There were peaches, staring me in the face, at the front of the commissary’s produce section. $1.48 for 2 pounds! They smelled tasty, so it was a done deal.

Two days later when I noticed one turning a little too ripe, I knew it was time to act. A peach cobbler it would be.

I’m not a frequent peach cobbler maker. In fact, I rarely mess around with peaches. After slipping off the skins and pitting and slicing, I remembered why I generally avoid baking with stone fruit. (It has to do with my patience.) Berries are definitely the way to go!

Especially when the peaches just don’t taste good. The one I sampled after adding sugar and before adding the crumble topping wasn’t special, but I thought maybe the butter and additional sugar in the topping would help.

I was wrong. And I couldn’t stand to eat my cobbler.

Alice Waters writes in The Art of Simple Food, “When you have the best and tastiest ingredients, you can cook very simply and the food will be extraordinary because it tastes like what it is.” But no style of cooking can save gross peaches.

2 thoughts on “How to Kill a Cobbler

  1. Thank you so much for the comment, I LOVE the simplicity and look of your blog and can’t wait to read more posts : ) PS how fun that you’re in the UK!

Leave a Reply

