In England

That’s So Autumn

October brought many good things. Namely my husband and our dog. Plus, I find joy in the baby spending time with any of his grandparents, as I spent a lot of time with mine growing up and regret that military life is going to prevent that for my child.

Beyond that, October brought beautiful light and colors to England. Fall has always been my favorite season, but it’s a whole new experience here. The leaves are changing, but it’s also so… green! All of my favorites in one.

[The above photo is of the ruins at the Bury St. Edmunds Abbey Gardens.]

Of course, poets and artists know that this blaze of glory is a signal that the circle of life keeps turning. Autumn is not all golden sunshine and rainbow trees. It’s also the start of long, dark nights. Realllly long, dark nights.

Many of the National Trust and English Heritage sites close down starting in November. On cool nights the streets smell of cozy wood-burning fires. Summer has fizzled out, and a season of tea, scones and whiskey is nearly upon us.

I’m not quite sure what we’re going to do, though. The baby naps twice a day, always during the organized activities. And it’s not like we can cozy up to a fire with a shot of whiskey until Dad gets home from work. Fall is coinciding with the end of babyhood, and just as I don’t know what to expect from an English winter, I don’t know what to expect from a young toddler.

So I seek advice. What are some good indoor activities for toddlers and mommies?

Leave a Reply

