Food · In England · Military Life

Grocery Woes (Or, complaints of a spoiled American)

As we’re getting settled and waiting for our Omaha house to be rented, we’re trying to be as practical as possible about our food shopping. It’s kind of a stretch for me.

On my worst days I would walk into the produce section at Whole Foods and immediately feel a wave of relaxation.  I like to window shop fancy grocery stores the same way others like to window shop designer boutiques. The difference is that it’s a lot easier to spend some money on a grocery item than, say, a Chanel suit. Plus, if you know me at all, you know one of the few things I ever get excited about is a farmer’s market.

So far the most practical way to do our grocery shopping is weekly trips to the commissary at a nearby base. [Last look, one GBP = $1.61.] This requires me to a) drive to the grocery store when there are several in walking distance, b) drive farther to the grocery store than the several that are closer, c) go shopping at a base commissary, which I refused to ever do in Omaha, and d) not fill my home with British grocery goods. Oh, and I have to plan a week’s worth of meals before I go. Not my strong suit. (How will I know what I’m in the mood for next Wednesday?)

When asked prior to leaving the states what I might miss, I had no idea. Now I do.

I’m learning that there are some things I simply can’t get there and some American goods that I simply am happy to have.

Things I’m happy to get there:

  • Dunkin’ Donuts coffee (I made the switch from Starbucks to see if the $3/bag savings was worth it, and I’m digging it)
  • Kashi cereal (thanks, Kraft!)
  • Walden’s formula & diapers (also: 50% of my bill)
  • Seventh Generation products
  • Triscuits (to feed the Mister with cheese from the town market while Master Walden is being put to bed)
  • Nutella (I don’t let myself buy it because it’s NOT okay to eat it by the spoonful, I just like knowing it’s there)

Things I’m sad not to find:

  • Earth’s Best baby food products (i.e. baby oatmeal that’s just oats, minus some additive or preservative)
  • EarthGrain bread (7 Grain, yum)
  • NutThins
  • Decent tortillas (‘cuz Mummy likes her TexMex)
  • Big resealable containers of plain whole milk yogurt
  • Booze (you have to buy your wine and beer at the Class Six, and don’t forget your ration card if you’re out of gin)

Once we get a little more leveled out, I can see a weekly treat from our local Waitrose or Marks & Spencer … especially if we’re headed out to picnic at the Anglesey Abbey. In the mean time, I’ll be making an effort to actually eat my leftovers so that there’s room in our tiny fridge for this week’s grocery run.

3 thoughts on “Grocery Woes (Or, complaints of a spoiled American)

  1. Lynn,

    Send me your email address and grocery list. I’ll make you a box from home :)

    Lots of Love,
    Alisha

Leave a Reply

