Being

Looking Inward: Perfection

Lately I’ve been wearing this pendant I picked up in Crete. It’s a replica of the Phaestos disk, an ancient Minoan relic which has lost its real meaning over centuries of evolving language. What I heard is that it is supposed to signify introspection, looking into one’s self. It feels appropriate.

I’ve had a handful of realizations about myself and life over the past couple of years. It’s really pretty gratifying, feeling like I know a thing or two about what I’m about. Now I’m ready to share.

Today’s insight: It’s liberating to fully understand that doing everything perfectly doesn’t guarantee anything.

It’s nice to know that there are some things that are just beyond my control; to understand that even when I think I’m in control of everything, there are always forces working around me that can impact what I think I’m trying to do. That I can do everything right and not get the outcome I want. Or that I can do everything not right and still get the outcome I want. What a weight it lifts, knowing this.

Leave a Reply

