Wonderings

Onward in 2010

And it’s a new year!

I’ve been a bit out of the blogging routine lately. I can blame it on a lot of things: my sister moving in, my new commitment to fitness, work and volunteering. But what it really comes down to is this: lack of inspiration. 2009 was a rough year, filled with many dashed hopes and fizzled-out dreams. (At least it was dotted with some fantastic trips!)

Looking to 2010 is an exercise in forced optimism. I just saw my husband for 9 days after he returned from a 60+ day deployment (his second in the past 6 months) before he left for a month in Alabama, and he will be out of state for the last half of this year for training. I’m not fishing for sympathy  – tens of thousands of families deal with this – but I am trying to set up my personal challenge for 2010:

Finding what will make this year great while my best friend/husband is away for most of it.

This challenge smacks of opportunity for really coming into my own. My friend Dani suggested focusing on one word in the new year rather than tasks or end-states, and applying that word to every thing you do. I think it’s an excellent idea, particularly if you can overcome the hurdle of thinking and doing. I told her my word is “joy.”

The hardest thing in the world is to wake up each day and decide to be how you want to be rather than to wait for it to come. I’ve managed to decide to be a lot of things: successful in my career, committed to being healthy, a loving wife, someone who volunteers. But all of those things together still don’t add up to joy.

I’ve told myself that I’m my happiest when I’m traveling, hiking with my husband. Knowing that it’s an impossibility in most of this year, and reminding myself of my word – joy – I refuse to throw my hands up and decide that 2010 will suck. So. Each day is a quest in discovery, searching for the things that will bring me the most joy. The things that bring me peace and warmth, that help me feel balanced and full of love. And that’s what will make 2010 a good year.

What brings you joy?

2 thoughts on “Onward in 2010

  1. Beautiful friends like you bring me joy!

    I also love snuggling with cute dogs, drinking coffee, being lazy, listening to people, hiking, biking, running…

  2. You bring me joy. Did you know that it is actually one of my favorite words? True story. Everytime Jordyn sees something in the store with JOY on it, she wants to buy it for me. There are a lot of things in life that we have no say in, no choice in. And still there is those choices throughout the day when we decide who to be. Joy is a fantastic word for you, Lynn. And I can’t wait to spend another year as your friend!

Leave a Reply

