Wonderings

13.5 to 30 – An Update

reflection

Hello! If you’re new to Olio: Welcome! What you’ll find here is a mish mash of the food, places, things (and sometimes people) in my life, and often those that inspire me. Perhaps it might inspire you, too. I invite you to hang around and read on. It’s good to have you!

**

The past 6 weeks have brought me some surprises that are allowing me to check off some items on My List of Things I Want to Do by My 30th Birthday, and some realizations that have me wanting to amend that list (being the obsessive listmaker that I am):

  • Read War & Peace. I would rather read 12 good books than force myself to sit down with that.
  • Visit Vegas I really don’t care if I ever go to Vegas, why should it be on my list?
  • Get published (an article, a photo, whatever).
  • Not be envious of my friends who do/create wonderful things. I’m of course happy for them, but why not be envious?
  • Do/create something that I find wonderful.
  • Finish a knitting project.
  • Take a drawing class. I was digging through a secret stash of “art” I made years ago. Turns out I forgot that I already can draw, if I take the time to try. So, no.
  • Relearn some Spanish.
  • Bake a cake from scratch and decorate it fancily.
  • Visit the Met & MOMA with my sister.
  • Hike in Colorado – which also covers Visiting Colorado.
  • Get over feeling like my list of Things to Do Before I’m 30 is kind of lame.

So that brings me to a revised Things To Do Before I Turn 30 List:

  • Do/create something that I find wonderful.
  • Finish a knitting project.
  • Relearn some Spanish.
  • Bake a cake from scratch and decorate it fancily.
  • Visit the Met & MOMA with my sister.
  • NEW: Read 12 books.
  • NEW: Decide on a Favorite Movie of All Time.
  • NEW: Decide on a Favorite Album of All Time.

Already achieved:

  • Get published (an article, a photo, whatever).
  • Hike in Colorado – which also covers Visiting Colorado.
  • Get over feeling like my list of Things to Do Before I’m 30 is kind of lame.

What’s on your “Before My Next Big Birthday” list?

3 thoughts on “13.5 to 30 – An Update

  1. OK, so 1) You make so many wonderful things – may I remind you of the Lynn Beha original hanging in my living room, and 2) Make sure to let me know when it’s time to bake the cake from scratch and decorate it fancily – I am so in for that!

  2. i think you should make a cake tomorrow and then instead of going out for breakfast, we will just eat it on your porch for breakfast sunday.
    i’ve decided that my to do before 30 is…not to make a list. because i just don’t do them. i made a new year’s list to accomplish before i was thirty…i didn’t do it, BUT trying some of those things has led me in directions i would have never thought of going. and i am becoming ok with that.
    but i think you should stick with making the cake.

Leave a Reply

