Books · Music

Mixed Media ~ March ~

What I’m watching, reading and listening to this month:

Movies

I think I’ve watched 6 movies in this past week alone. One of those ruts, I guess. All of them were quite good, and so I have decided to 1) Not bring up Paris Je T’aime again, though I think I loved it the most and 2) categorize them to help you match a pick to your mood.

August Rush

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

Lars & the Real Girl

Waltz With Bashir

In Bruges

PS, I’m totally loving Emily Mortimer right now. AND she’s fluent in Russian!

Books

We recently made a family decision to spend less money. An obvious place to cut back is on books: I love books, I love having books, I love reading books, but I’ve caught up on the books I know I want to have. So why not just check out books from the library?

And so I picked up more than Field Guides to Central America on my recent trip to the library. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri made a variety of Best Books of 2008 lists, and I was delighted to find a copy of it at the front of the library. These short stories about children of Indian immigrants in America are well written and moving.

Unaccustomed Earth

Magazines

A sister-in-law gave us a subscription to The New Yorker for Chrismakkah. And I just love finding it in my mailbox each Friday or Saturday, begging to be read. So far I have knocked out a profile on Bill Cunningham, The New York Times’ On the Streets fashion photographer. It’s so nice to have a variety of topics that I would never think to care about (tinnitus, John Updike) delivered to me to discover.

The New Yorker

Music

The other day over lunch I picked up Sigur Ros‘s album Takk… Beautiful.

Sigur Ros Takk...

Leave a Reply

