Wonderings

Recycle Caps with Aveda

Caps, originally uploaded by P. C. Loadletter.

Ever feel guilty for throwing away the caps on your water, shampoo/conditioner, peanut butter jars that you so diligently recycle? (Well, I do.) Earth911.com’s newsletter reports that now Aveda will take those caps and make new packaging out of them. (Because “The magnitude of this pollution problem is devastating to our oceans and wildlife.”)

Good for you Aveda!

I just wish there were a retail Aveda store within, oh, a few hundred miles to drop off mine. My husband gives me a hard enough time for saving grocery bags full of newspapers and junk mail – I wonder how I can slip under the radar with a plastic bottle collection that I save for an entire year until our next trip to Minneapolis. Actually… I wonder how big that collection might get? Sounds like a challenge.

Here’s some helpful info:

* If you are able to bend or break the lid, it doesn’t qualify.
* (Bummer:  ) They can’t accept plastic pumps or sprayers.
* You’re probably closer to an Aveda Store than I am.

One thought on “Recycle Caps with Aveda

  1. There is a new Aveda-affiliated salon at One Pacific Place. Not exactly the same as a true Aveda store, but I wonder if they will accept bottle caps.

    You make me want to be a greener person :)

Leave a Reply

