Suffolk Coast: Southwold

Southwold Beach Huts

Seeing a sun icon with a high of 75 in my weekend weather forecast feels like winning the lottery. I emailed my husband at work last week: WE’RE GOING TO THE BEACH SUNDAY.

It seems to happen once a year. Last year we visited Great Yarmouth, the year before that, Wells-Next-the-Sea. As this is our last summer here (and perhaps our last summer within 90 minutes of a coast), I wanted to try something new. Southwold was recommended by two reliable sources. So we went.

All we need from a beach at this stage in our lives is parking, clean sand and a place to pick up some snacks. We don’t need the arcades, amusements and tacky vendors. Southwold was perfect, with its charming beach huts and large sandy beaches.

Southwold Beach

The North Sea is cold. The toddler was taken out by a receding wave as soon as we got to the beach, so he was happy to focus on the sand.

Toddler in Sand

We brought a UV tent for the baby, because use of sunscreen on babies under 6 months isn’t recommended and I didn’t want to cut our trip short to keep the baby out of the sun. While he didn’t nap in it, he happily played and listened to the sounds of the beach for a good long while. It was just large enough for me to fit inside to feed him, too!

Southwold Beach

Our entourage motivated us to stay close the pier. Take away sandwiches were hard to come by, but my husband did bring back a massive espresso to fuel us through the afternoon.

There’s more sun in the forecast this next weekend! We won’t be drinking lite beer at a lake and watching fireworks or anything, but we’ll be thinking of those of you who are.

A big THANK YOU to those of you who voted for me in Circle of Moms Top 25 Military Moms contest. I made the cut! And congratulations to Jenn, Jessica and Rachel for joining me this year. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Suffolk Coast: Southwold

  1. Love the beach! Of course I live in LA so I’m biased :) I actually plan to go this week; weekdays are the best because that’s when they’re empty. I still haven’t gotten around to getting a huge umbrella for the babies so I think I’ll just wait til they’re 6 months before I take them out.

  2. Pingback: A Love Note for My One Year Old | wanderlynn

Leave a Reply

